Skip to content
WE ARE OPEN! Come see us at 250 W 1st. St in Grimes, 10am-6pm Monday-Saturday!
WE ARE OPEN! Come see us at 250 W 1st. St in Grimes, 10am-6pm Monday-Saturday!

Woodworm

Original price $21.95 - Original price $21.95
Original price
$21.95
$21.95 - $21.95
Current price $21.95

For fans of Mariana Enriquez and Fernanda Melchor, Layla Martinez's debut novel with its grisly, mystical vision of justice for an unjust world, announces a terrifying new voice in international horror.

The house breathes. The house contains bodies and secrets. The house is visited by ghosts, by angels that line the roof like insects, and by saints that burn the bedsheets with their haloes.

It was built by a smalltime hustler as a means of controlling his wife, and even after so many years, their daughter and her granddaughter can't leave. They may be witches or they may just be angry, but when the mysterious disappearance of a young boy draws unwanted attention, the two isolated women, already subjects of public scorn, combine forces with the spirits that haunt them in pursuit of something that resembles justice.

In this lush translation by Sophie Hughes and Annie McDermott, Layla Martínez's eerie debut novel is class-conscious horror that drags generations of monsters into the sun. Described by Mariana Enriquez as "a house of women and shadows, built from poetry and revenge, " this vision of a broken family in our unjust world places power in the hands of the eccentric, the radical, and the desperate.

Translated from the original Spanish by Sophie Hughes & Annie McDermott

Condition: New

ISBN-13: 9781949641592

ISBN-10: 1949641597

Need a Quote?


Create Quote